EU countries whose representatives will attend Putin’s inauguration

Reuters publishes a list of seven EU countries whose representatives will attend Putin’s inauguration today:

France (the ambassador, who was summoned to the Russian Foreign Ministry the day before because of Macron’s statements about sending troops to Ukraine, will go);
– Hungary;
– Slovakia;
– Greece;
– Malta;
– Cyprus.

Belgium also thought about participating in the inauguration but, at the last moment, refused.

Sources in Paris commented on their ambassador’s participation in the event as follows.

“The participation of our ambassador does not mean that we consider Putin’s election legitimate or that we ‘recognize’ him, it only means that we have an embassy in Moscow,” French diplomats said.

The U.S., Britain and the EU leadership said they would not send their representatives to the ceremony.

It was also reported that Germany decided to boycott the inauguration, and Paris’ decision would mean a split between the EU leaders.

The European Parliament and the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe refused to recognize Putin as the legitimate president of Russia.

Today, May 7, the Kremlin will host another so-called inauguration of Russian dictator Putin, which will extend his rule for six years.

VIDEO ABC News – The New Tsar: How Putin Became Russia’s Dictator.